Children of Fortune


innocent-child_2101491

It was on a bright summer day i remember ,

Life was passing by;
When suddenly I saw this happy child,
I felt so heavy i felt so light.

Her lovely face reminded me of the rain,
Of the touch of the Stars,
Of the smell of the wet mud after the first rain,
Of the dance in Heaven’s plain.

It reminded me of the time when everything was so simple,
When hype ,pretense and sorrow were words i was yet to learn,
It reminded me of the times when i was fed by my mum.

I was no one other than my parent’s son,
No burden in the world,no errands to run.

I used to run after the rainbow colored butterflies in the field,
Some wings were red ,others striped green.
So many colors to play with,
I stopped at times amazed ,admiring the artist’s colored canvas – all so burning bright.

Food was always ready when i was hungry,
No responsibilities ,no expectations round the clock.
Life was so simple and carefree round the block.

When friends were so easy to make,
When i had the time to feel the sun and touch the dripping rain,
I wonder sometimes how i derived the greatest joy,
Out of the simplest things ,
I grew up to be a Boy.

I want to be a child again,
I want to dance in the dripping Rain.

Today some where inside me ,i feel like a child is born again,
Today i felt the touch of the falling Rain,
As the rain drops touched and slid across my face,
I heard a whisper, I felt the Creator’s secret faith.

-Ranjan

(As always feel free to share the poem under creative common’s if you like it.Pls drop by a comment if it brought a smile to your face)

2 thoughts on “Children of Fortune

Leave a comment